Johannes Zurl

Conductor

Conductor Johannes Zurl pursued courses of study with Prof. Karl-Heinz Steffens, Prof. Steven Sloane and Kurt Masur. A scholarship holder at the Berlin Philharmonic’s Karajan Academy and an ARD (Munich) Music Competition prizewinner, he attended master classes given by Jorma Panula, Bernard Haitink and David Zinman. He has accepted repeated invitations to the American Academy of Conducting at the Aspen Music Festival. In 2014, Johannes Zurl was invited by Lorin Maazel to the Castleton Festival as Conducting Fellow and by the Colorado Symphony Orchestra Denver to a concert of Max Steiner’s film music to Casablanca.

As a rehearsal pianist, he assisted Hans Graf, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos and Christian Thielemann. At the invitation of Jeffrey Tate, he has since 2009 made regular appearances on the podium of the Symphoniker Hamburg orchestra. The 2012/13 season marked his debut with the Deutsche Symphonie Orchester Berlin, with which he has recorded a CD featuring works by Hindemith for the cpo label. His highly regarded second CD appeared on cpo in the winter of 2016, this time with the Symphoniker Hamburg in works by Romantic composer Friedrich Gernsheim. His recent debut CD on Sony Classical with the RSO Berlin and Barbara Schöneberger scored a notable success. Since 2018 he has regularly been directing and instructing the college orchestra at Hanover’s Hochschule für Musik und Theater in rehearsals of repertoire. He is also to be seen as conductor in the new ZDF classical music series Klassik im Club and has debuted in Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie. Johannes Zurl was nominated for the 2020 Opus Klassik awards.

Conducting assignments to date have taken him to the Brandenburg Symphony, the Badische Staatskapelle, Theater Magdeburg, the Bochum Symphony, Neue Philharmonie Westfalen, Theater Hagen, Orquestra Nacional do Porto, Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest, the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra and to Zurich’s Tonhalle Orchestra.

In the company of Mojca Erdmann, Ruth Ziesak, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Johannes Moser, Nils Mönkemeyer, Tabea Zimmermann and many others, he has guested at such festivals as the Heidelberg Spring Festival, Beethovenfest Bonn, the Jerusalem Chamber Music Festival, Schubertiade Schwarzenberg and the Aldeburgh Music Festival.

With effect from the 2019/2020 season, Johannes Zurl has been part of the conducting team at the State Theatre in Cottbus initially as Kapellmeister and since January 2020 as leading Kapellmeister.

2020-10-06

Ludwig van Beethoven FIDELIO
Ralph Benatzky IM WEISSEN RÖSSEL
Georges Bizet CARMEN
Xavier Dayer ALZHEIM
Gaetano Donizetti DON PASQUALE
  LUCIA DI LAMMERMOOR
Paul Hindemith SANCTA SUSANNA
Engelbert Humperdinck HÄNSEL UND GRETEL
Emmerich Kálmán DIE CSÁRDÁSFÜRSTIN
Franz Lehár DIE LUSTIGE WITWE
Albert Lortzing DER WILDSCHÜTZ
Claudio Monteverdi L’ORFEO
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE
  DON GIOVANNI
  IDOMENEO
  LE NOZZE DI FIGARO
Giacomo Puccini LA BOHÈME
  SUOR ANGELICA
Arnold Schönberg ERWARTUNG
Richard Strauss ARIADNE AUF NAXOS
  SALOME
Johann Strauß DIE FLEDERMAUS
Pjotr Tschaikowski EUGEN ONEGIN
  MAZEPPA
Giuseppe Verdi AIDA
Richard Wagner DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER
  LOHENGRIN
Carl Maria von Weber DER FREISCHÜTZ

Johannes Zurl

Dirigent

Der Dirigent Johannes Zurl absolvierte seine Studien bei Prof. Karl-Heinz Steffens, Prof. Steven Sloane und Kurt Masur. Er war Stipendiat der Karajan- Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker und ist Preisträger des Int. Musikwettbewerbes der ARD in München. Meisterkurse besuchte er bei Jorma Panula, Bernard Haitink und David Zinman. Er war mehrfach zur American Academy of Conducting beim Aspen Music Festival eingeladen. 2014 wurde Johannes Zurl von Lorin Maazel zum Castleton Festival als conducting fellow eingeladen und vom Colorado Symphony Orchestra Denver zu einem Konzert mit Max Steiners Filmmusik zu Casablanca.

Als Korrepetitor war er für Hans Graf, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos und Christian Thielemann tätig. Auf Einladung Jeffrey Tates dirigiert er seit 2009 regelmäßig die Symphoniker Hamburg. In der Saison 2012/13 gab er sein Debüt beim Deutschen Symphonie Orchester Berlin, mit welchem er auch eine CD mit Werken von Hindemith für das Label cpo eingespielt hat. Im Winter 2016 erschien seine viel beachtete zweite CD beim Label cpo. Diesmal mit den Symphonikern Hamburg und Werken von Friedrich Gernsheim. Kürzlich feierte seine Debüt-CD beim Label Sony classical mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin und Barbara Schöneberger großen Erfolg. Seit 2018 leitet und unterrichtet er regelmäßig das Hochschulorchester der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hannover im Rahmen von Repertoire Proben. Zudem ist er als Dirigent in der neuen Klassik Reihe des ZDF „Klassik im Club“ zu sehen und gab sein Debüt in der Elbphilharmonie. Darüber hinaus war Johannes Zurl für den Opus Klassik 2020 nominiert.

Bisherige Dirigate führten ihnzu den Brandenburgern Symphonikern, zur Badischen Staatskapelle, an das Theater Magdeburg, zu den Bochumer Symphonikern, zur Neuen Philharmonie Westfalen, an das Theater Hagen, zum Orquestra Nacional do Porto, dem Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest, zum Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, dem Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra und zum Tonhalle Orchester Zürich.

An der Seite von Mojca Erdmann, Ruth Ziesak, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Johannes Moser, Nils Mönkemeyer, Tabea Zimmermann und vielen anderen war er zu Gast auf Festivals wie dem Heidelberger Frühling, dem Beethovenfest Bonn, dem Jerusalem Chamber Music Festival, der Schubertiade Schwarzenberg und dem Aldeburgh Music Festival.

Seit der Spielzeit 2019/2020 ist Johannes Zurl am Staatstheater Cottbus engagiert, zunächst als Kapellmeister, seit Januar 2020 als 1. Kapellmeister.

2020-10-06

Ludwig van Beethoven FIDELIO
Ralph Benatzky IM WEISSEN RÖSSEL
Georges Bizet CARMEN
Xavier Dayer ALZHEIM
Gaetano Donizetti DON PASQUALE
  LUCIA DI LAMMERMOOR
Paul Hindemith SANCTA SUSANNA
Engelbert Humperdinck HÄNSEL UND GRETEL
Emmerich Kálmán DIE CSÁRDÁSFÜRSTIN
Franz Lehár DIE LUSTIGE WITWE
Albert Lortzing DER WILDSCHÜTZ
Claudio Monteverdi L’ORFEO
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE
  DON GIOVANNI
  IDOMENEO
  LE NOZZE DI FIGARO
Giacomo Puccini LA BOHÈME
  SUOR ANGELICA
Arnold Schönberg ERWARTUNG
Richard Strauss ARIADNE AUF NAXOS
  SALOME
Johann Strauß DIE FLEDERMAUS
Pjotr Tschaikowski EUGEN ONEGIN
  MAZEPPA
Giuseppe Verdi AIDA
Richard Wagner DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER
  LOHENGRIN
Carl Maria von Weber DER FREISCHÜTZ