Andreas Hermann

Andreas Hermann

The tenor Andreas Hermann was an ensemble member at the Nationaltheater in Mannheim between 2014 and 2020, where he sung a number of important roles in the dramatic fach. Acclaimed by the music press and audiences alike, his most recent debut was as the Emperor in Richard Strauss’s DIE FRAU OHNE SCHATTEN.

Before that, he had debuted as Pinkerton in MADAMA BUTTERFLY, Paolo in Rachmaninoff’s FRANCESCA DA RIMINI and Pollione in NORMA. His embodiment of Florestan in Beethoven’s FIDELIO attracted much attention, and he interpreted the role again in Yona Kim’s new production of the opera at the municipal theatre in Osnabrück, while he was also praised for his performance as Herod in SALOME. Previous to that, he had sung the title role in Mozart’s IDOMENEO and took the part of King Admeto in Dietrich Hilsdorf’s acclaimed staging of ALCESTE. A further high point of his career was when he played Dionysus in Hans Werner Henze’s opera THE BASSARIDS. In Schumann’s seldom performed opera GENOVEVA he took the part of Golo. He has also played Tamino, the Singer in DER ROSENKAVALIER, Cassio in OTELLO, Alfred in DIE FLEDERMAUS, Camille de Rosillon in THE MARRY WIDOW and the Prince in THE LOVE FOR THREE ORANGES Oranges, as well as performing arias and duets by Léhar and Kálmán in an operetta gala.

He began his career at the opera house in Frankfurt while still a student, playing the Apparition of a Youth in DIE FRAU OHNE SCHATTEN by Richard Strauss. His first permanent engagement was with the opera house in Bern, where he sang such parts as Tamino (THE MAGIC FLUTE) and Walther von der Vogelweide (TANNHÄUSER). Andreas Hermann was subsequently engaged by Stefan Soltesz as a lyric tenor at the Aalto Theatre in Essen, where he developed a wide-ranging repertoire: from Ferrando in COSÌ FAN TUTTE, Don Ottavio in DON GIOVANNI through Nemorino in L´ELISIR D´AMORE, Fenton in Verdi’s FALSTAFF, Nadir in THE PEARL FISHERS to Lensky in EUGEN ONEGIN and Alfredo in LA TRAVIATA, as well as Steersman in THE FLYING DUTCHMAN, Froh in DAS RHEINGOLD, Lysander in Britten’s A MIDSUMMER NIGHT´S DREAM, the Painter in Berg’s LULU, Toni Reischmann in Henze’s ELEGIE FÜR JUNGE LIEBENDE and Kalil in the premiere of DIE ARABISCHE NACHT by Christian Jost. Working at the State Opera in Stuttgart for several seasons, he played roles such as Kudrjas in KATYA KABANOVA and Ferrando in COSÌ FAN TUTTE.

Guest engagements have taken him to Göteborg (Fenton), Wiesbaden (Ferrando), Mannheim and Saarbrücken (Tamino), Bern (Don Ottavio), Schwerin (Lyonel in MARTHA, Alfred and Tamino), Cologne (Rosillon), and as the Singer in DER ROSENKAVALIER to the Komische Oper in Berlin, as Lensky to the State Opera in Hanover, and he has also returned to the opera house in Frankfurt to play Alfred.

Andreas Hermann was born in Rottweil am Neckar (south-western Germany) and initially studied industrial engineering at the University of Karlsruhe. He then began studying singing with Prof. Reginaldo Pinheiro in Karlsruhe and Freiburg and with Paolo de Napoli in Florence. With effect from the last season he is being tutored by Prof. Fenna Kügel-Seifried.

The opera directors who have had the most profound influence on his career so far include Stefan Herheim, Hans Neuenfels, Barrie Kosky, Christoph Nel, Dietrich Hilsdorf, Tatjana Gürbaca, Yona Kim and Michael Sturminger. The conductors he has worked with include, in particular, Paolo Carignani, Sebastian Weigle, Miguel Gómez-Martínez, Marc Piollet, Srboljub Dinic, Manfred Honeck, Dan Ettinger, Stefan Soltesz, Rubén Dubrovsky and Alexander Soddy.

2020-09-01

Beethoven FIDELIO Florestan
Bellini NORMA Pollione
Berg LULU Der Maler
Bizet LES PÊCHEURS DE PERLES Nadir
Britten A Midsummer Night’s Dream Lysander
Donizetti L’ELISIR D’AMORE Nemorino
  LUCIA DI LAMMERMOOR Lord Arturo
Flotow MARTHA Lyonel
Gluck ALCESTE Admète
Händel HERCULES Hyllus
Henking, Christian LEONCE UND LENA Schulmeister, Hofprediger
Henze DIE BASSARIDEN Dionysus
  ELEGIE FÜR JUNGE LIEBENDE Toni Reischmann
Janáček KATJA KABANOWA Kudrjas (Stuttgarter Fassung)
Jost, Christian DIE ARABISCHE NACHT Kalil
Lehár DIE LUSTIGE WITWE Camille de Rosillon
Mozart BASTIEN UND BASTIENNE Bastien
  COSÌ FAN TUTTE Ferrando
  DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE Tamino
  DON GIOVANNI Don Ottavio
  IDOMENEO Idomeneo
  ZAIDE Gomatz
Prokofjew DIE LIEBE ZU DEN 3 ORANGEN Der Prinz
Puccini MADAMA BUTTERFLY Pinkerton
  MANON LESCAUT Edmond
  TURANDOT Pong
Rachmaninow FRANCESCA DA RIMINI Paolo Malatesta
Schreker DER FERNE KLANG Chevalier, Individuum
Schumann GENOVEVA Golo
Strauß, Johann DIE FLEDERMAUS Alfred
Strauss, Richard ARIADNE AUF NAXOS Brighella
  DER ROSENKAVALIER Ein Sänger
  DIE FRAU OHNE SCHATTEN Der Kaiser, Erscheinung des Jünglings
  SALOME Herodes
Tschaikowski EUGEN ONEGIN Lenski
Verdi FALSTAFF Fenton
  LA TRAVIATA Alfredo
  OTELLO Cassio
Wagner
DAS RHEINGOLD Froh
  DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER Steuermann
  PARSIFAL Gralsritter
  TANNHÄUSER Walter von der Vogelweide
  TRISTAN UND ISOLDE Stimme eines jungen Seemanns
Ludwig van Beethoven Messe C-Dur op. 86
  9. Sinfonie in d-Moll op. 125
Antonín Dvořák Requiem op. 89 für Soli, Chor und Orchester
Charles Gounod Messe solennelle en l’honneur de Sainte-Cécile
Joseph Haydn Die Jahreszeiten, Hob. XXI:3
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Elias op. 70 (MWV A 25)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Requiem in d-Moll (KV 626)
Gioachino Rossini Petite Messe solennelle

Andreas Hermann

Tenor

Andreas Hermann

Der Tenor Andreas Hermann war von 2014 bis 2020 Ensemblemitglied am Nationaltheater Mannheim, wo er sein Repertoire um einige wichtige Rollen des dramatischen Faches erweitert. Von Fachpresse und Publikum gleichermaßen gefeiert debütierte er zuletzt als Kaiser in DIE FRAU OHNE SCHATTEN von Richard Strauss.

Dem voraus gingen die Debüts als Pinkerton in MADAMA BUTTERFLY, Paolo in Rachmaninoffs FRANCESCA DA RIMINI und Pollione in NORMA. Besondere Beachtung fanden sein Florestan in Beethovens FIDELIO, den er auch in Yona Kims Neuproduktion am Theater Osnabrück interpretierte, sowie Herodes in SALOME. Zuvor gestaltete er die Titelpartie von Mozarts IDOMENEO und war in Dietrich Hilsdorfs gefeierter Inszenierung von ALCESTE als König Admète zu erleben. Einen weiteren Höhepunkt stellte die Rolle des Dionysus in H.W. Henzes Oper THE BASSARIDS dar. In Schumanns selten aufgeführter Oper GENOVEVA verkörperte er die Partie des Golo. Ferner war er als Tamino, Sänger im DER ROSENKAVALIER, Cassio in OTELLO, Alfred in DIE FLEDERMAUS, Camille de Rosillon in DIE LUSTIGE WITWE, mit Arien und Duetten von Léhar und Kálmán in der „Operettengala“ und als Prinz in DIE LIEBE ZU DEN DREI ORANGEN zu hören.

Seine Karriere begann er, noch während des Studiums, an der Oper Frankfurt, u.a. als Jüngling in DIE FRAU OHNE SCHATTEN von Richard Strauss. Danach führte ihn sein erster Festvertrag nach Bern. Dort sang er bereits Partien wie Tamino (DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE) oder Walther von der Vogelweide (TANNHÄUSER). Anschließend wurde Andreas Hermann von Stefan Soltesz als lyrischer Tenor an das Aalto Theater Essen engagiert, dort erarbeitete er sich ein breitgefächertes Repertoire: von Ferrando in COSÌ FAN TUTTE, Don Ottavio in DON GIOVANNI über Nemorino in L´ELISIR D´AMORE, Fenton in Verdis FALSTAFF, Nadir in DIE PERLENFISCHER bis hin zu Lenskij in EUGEN ONEGIN oder Alfredo in LA TRAVIATA, ebenso wie Steuermann in DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER, Froh in DAS RHEINGOLD, Lysander in Brittens SOMMERNACHTSTRAUM, der Maler in Bergs LULU, Toni Reischmann in H.W.Henzes ELEGIE FÜR JUNGE LIEBENDE oder Kalil in der Uraufführung DIE ARABISCHE NACHT von Christian Jost. An der Staatsoper Stuttgart war er über mehrere Spielzeiten hinweg als Kudrjas in KATJA KABANOVA und Ferrando in COSIÌ FAN TUTTE zu erleben.

Gastengagements führten ihn des weiteren nach Göteborg (Fenton), Wiesbaden (Ferrando), Mannheim und Saarbrücken (Tamino), Bern (Don Ottavio), Schwerin (Lyonel in MARTHA, Alfred und Tamino), Köln (Rosillon), sowie als Sänger im DER ROSENKAVALIER an die Komische Oper Berlin, als Lenskij an die Staatsoper Hannover und als Alfred kehrte er an die Oper Frankfurt zurück.

Geboren in Rottweil am Neckar studierte Andreas Hermann zunächst Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen an der Universität Karlsruhe. Es folgte ein Gesangsstudium bei Prof. Reginaldo Pinheiro in Karlsruhe und Freiburg sowie bei Paolo de Napoli in Florenz. Seit der vergangenen Spielzeit wird er von Prof. Fenna Kügel-Seifried betreut.

Zu den prägendsten Regisseuren seiner Laufbahn zählen u.a. Stefan Herheim, Hans Neuenfels, Barrie Kosky, Christoph Nel, Dietrich Hilsdorf, Tatjana Gürbaca, Yona Kim und Michael Sturminger. Unter den Dirigenten sind vor allem Paolo Carignani, Sebastian Weigle, Miguel Gómez-Martínez, Marc Piollet, Srboljub Dinic, Manfred Honeck, Dan Ettinger, Stefan Soltesz, Rubén Dubrovsky und Alexander Soddy zu nennen.

2020-09-01

Beethoven FIDELIO Florestan
Bellini NORMA Pollione
Berg LULU Der Maler
Bizet LES PÊCHEURS DE PERLES Nadir
Britten A Midsummer Night’s Dream Lysander
Donizetti L’ELISIR D’AMORE Nemorino
  LUCIA DI LAMMERMOOR Lord Arturo
Flotow MARTHA Lyonel
Gluck ALCESTE Admète
Händel HERCULES Hyllus
Henking, Christian LEONCE UND LENA Schulmeister, Hofprediger
Henze DIE BASSARIDEN Dionysus
  ELEGIE FÜR JUNGE LIEBENDE Toni Reischmann
Janáček KATJA KABANOWA Kudrjas (Stuttgarter Fassung)
Jost, Christian DIE ARABISCHE NACHT Kalil
Lehár DIE LUSTIGE WITWE Camille de Rosillon
Mozart BASTIEN UND BASTIENNE Bastien
  COSÌ FAN TUTTE Ferrando
  DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE Tamino
  DON GIOVANNI Don Ottavio
  IDOMENEO Idomeneo
  ZAIDE Gomatz
Prokofjew DIE LIEBE ZU DEN 3 ORANGEN Der Prinz
Puccini MADAMA BUTTERFLY Pinkerton
  MANON LESCAUT Edmond
  TURANDOT Pong
Rachmaninow FRANCESCA DA RIMINI Paolo Malatesta
Schreker DER FERNE KLANG Chevalier, Individuum
Schumann GENOVEVA Golo
Strauß, Johann DIE FLEDERMAUS Alfred
Strauss, Richard ARIADNE AUF NAXOS Brighella
  DER ROSENKAVALIER Ein Sänger
  DIE FRAU OHNE SCHATTEN Der Kaiser, Erscheinung des Jünglings
  SALOME Herodes
Tschaikowski EUGEN ONEGIN Lenski
Verdi FALSTAFF Fenton
  LA TRAVIATA Alfredo
  OTELLO Cassio
Wagner
DAS RHEINGOLD Froh
  DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER Steuermann
  PARSIFAL Gralsritter
  TANNHÄUSER Walter von der Vogelweide
  TRISTAN UND ISOLDE Stimme eines jungen Seemanns
Ludwig van Beethoven Messe C-Dur op. 86
  9. Sinfonie in d-Moll op. 125
Antonín Dvořák Requiem op. 89 für Soli, Chor und Orchester
Charles Gounod Messe solennelle en l’honneur de Sainte-Cécile
Joseph Haydn Die Jahreszeiten, Hob. XXI:3
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Elias op. 70 (MWV A 25)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Requiem in d-Moll (KV 626)
Gioachino Rossini Petite Messe solennelle