Marianne Schechtel

Mezzosopran

In the 2020/2021 season, mezzo-soprano Marianne Schechtel will make her debut as Charlotte (WERTHER) at the Staatstheater in Meiningen; other parts that she will be singing include role debuts during this season as Adelaide (ARABELLA), Ciboletta (EINE NACHT IN VENEDIG) and Sister (THROUGH HIS TEETH).

She has been a member of the ensemble at the State Theatre of South Thuringia in Meiningen since the 2017/18 season. The parts she has sung there include Carmen and Mércèdes (CARMEN), Dorabella (COSÌ FAN TUTTE) and Dryad (ARIADNE AUF NAXOS). She has also embodied roles in contemporary operas such as Julie (JULIE / Philippe Boesmanns) and Sister (THROUGH HIS TEETH / Luke Bedford) and in the children’s opera GOLD! (Leonard Evers). She was awarded the Ulrich Burkhardt Bursary sponsored by the Friends of the Meiningen Theatre in May 2020.

The German-Russian mezzo grew up in Lübeck and studied for her Bachelor at the Musikhochschule in Lübeck in the class of Prof. Anke Eggers. She then graduated Master from HfM Hanns Eisler in Berlin after studies with Prof. Renate Faltin and entered into a musical partnership with Snežana Nena Brzaković.

While still studying, she developed a broad-based operatic repertoire embracing such parts as Polinesso (ARIODANTE), Cavaliere Ramiro (LA FINTA GIARDINIERA) in a production in the Bode Museum in Berlin and Hansel (HANSEL AND GRETEL) in Berlin’s Konzerthaus.

She is an active and frequent concert artist and claims the great oratorios as part of her repertoire. In particular she has sung in Mendelssohn’s Die erste Walpurgisnacht in the Konzerthaus in Berlin and in Bach’s Christmas Oratorio in the Berliner Dom.

She has attended master classes given by Francisco Araiza, Christa Ludwig and Angelika Kirchschlager, all three of them Kammersänger*innen, singers honoured for their outstanding achievement. During her course of study she was in receipt of a scholarship from the Yehudi Menuhin Live Music Now association in Lübeck and Berlin. She won the Jutta Schlegel Prize and received grants from the Possehl Foundation in Lübeck, the Junge Oper Lübeck and the Richard Wagner Society in Hamburg.

2020-11-05

Bedford THROUGH HIS TEETH Sister
Bizet CARMEN Carmen, Mercédès
Boesmans JULIE Julie
Britten A MIDSUMMER NIGHT’S DREAM Hypolita
Donizetti LUCIA DI LAMMERMOOR Alisa
Evers GOLD! (GOUD!) Jakob
Händel ARIODANTE Polinesso
  GIULIO CESARE IN EGITTO Sesto
  IL TRIONFO DEL TEMPO E DEL DESINGANNO Disinganno
Humperdinck HÄNSEL UND GRETEL Hänsel
Kálmán GRÄFIN MARIZA Manja
Massenet WERTHER Charlotte
Mozart COSÌ FAN TUTTE Dorabella
  DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE Dritte Dame
  LA FINTA GIARDINIERA Cavaliere Ramiro
  LE NOZZE DI FIGARO Marcellina
Offenbach LES CONTES D’HOFFMANN Voix de la mère
Puccini LA RONDINE Suzy
  MADAMA BUTTERFLY Susuki
Strauss ARIADNE AUF NAXOS Dryade
  DER ROSENKAVALIER Octavian
Strauß DIE FLEDERMAUS Prinz Orlofsky
  EINE NACHT IN VENEDIG Ciboletta
Tschaikowski EUGEN ONEGIN Olga
  PIQUE DAME Polina
Verdi RIGOLETTO Maddalena
Wagner DAS RHEINGOLD Erda
Johann Sebastian Bach Johannes-Passion (BWV 245)
  Markus-Passion, BWV 247
  Matthäus-Passion (BWV 244)
  Weihnachtsoratorium (BWV 248)
Claude Debussy La damoiselle élue
Antonín Dvořák Stabat Mater, op. 58 (B 71)
Manuel de Falla Siete Canciones populares Españolas
Georg Friedrich Händel Messiah, HWV 56
Gustav Mahler Sinfonie Nr. 2 in c-Moll
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Die erste Walpurgisnacht (MWV D 3)
  Elias op. 70
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Requiem in d-Moll. KV 626
Giovanni Battista Pergolesi Stabat mater
Gioachino Rossini Petite Messe solennelle
Camille Saint-Saëns Oratorio de Noël, op. 12
Arnold Schönberg Das Buch der hängenden Gärten, Op.15
Robert Schumann
Frauenliebe und -leben op. 42
Antonio Vivaldi Gloria, RV 589
Richard Wagner
Wesendonck-Lieder

Marianne Schechtel

Mezzosopran

Die Mezzosopranistin Marianne Schechtel wird in der Spielzeit 2020/2021 am Meininger Staatstheater unter anderem mit Charlotte (WERTHER) debütieren. Weitere Rollendebüts beinhalten in dieser Spielzeit Adelaide (ARABELLA), Ciboletta (EINE NACHT IN VENEDIG) und Sister (THROUGH HIS TEETH).

Seit der Spielzeit 2017/18 ist sie Ensemblemitglied des Südthüringischen Staatstheaters Meiningen. Zu ihren dort gesungenen Partien gehören unter anderem Carmen und Mércèdes (CARMEN), Dorabella (COSÌ FAN TUTTE) und Dryade (ARIADNE AUF NAXOS). Außerdem gestaltete sie Partien in zeitgenössischen Opern wie z.B. Julie (JULIE / P. Boesmanns), Sister (THROUGH HIS TEETH / L. Bedford) und in der Kinderoper GOLD!  (L. Evers). Im Mai 2020 wurde sie mit dem “Ulrich-Burkhardt-Förderpreis” der Meininger Theaterfreunde ausgezeichnet.

Die deutsch-russische Mezzosopranistin wuchs in Lübeck auf und studierte im Bachelor an der Musikhochschule Lübeck in der Klasse von Prof. Anke Eggers. Daraufhin absolvierte sie ihren Master an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ bei Prof. Renate Faltin und begann eine musikalische Zusammenarbeit mit Snežana Nena Brzaković.

Während ihres Studiums erarbeitete sie sich ein breites Opernrepertoire und sang beispielsweise Polinesso (ARIODANTE), Cavaliere Ramiro (LA FINTA GIARDINIERA) in einer Produktion im Bodemuseum Berlin und Hänsel (HÄNSEL UND GRETEL) im Konzerthaus Berlin.

Im Konzertfach ist sie gern und regelmäßig tätig und zählt die großen Oratorien zu ihrem Repertoire. Unter anderem war sie in Mendelssohns „Die erste Walpurgisnacht im Konzerthaus Berlin und in Bachs „Weihnachtsoratorium im Berliner Dom zu hören.

Sie nahm an Meisterkursen von KS Francisco Araiza, KS Christa Ludwig und KS Angelika Kirchschlager teil. Während ihres Studiums war sie Stipendiatin des Vereins „Yehudi Menuhin Live Music Now in Lübeck und Berlin. Sie wurde mit dem „Jutta-Schlegel-Preis ausgezeichnet und erhielt Stipendien der „Possehlstiftung Lübeck“, der „Jungen Oper Lübeck und des „Richard Wagner Verbands Hamburg“.

2020-11-05

Bedford THROUGH HIS TEETH Sister
Bizet CARMEN Carmen, Mercédès
Boesmans JULIE Julie
Britten A MIDSUMMER NIGHT’S DREAM Hypolita
Donizetti LUCIA DI LAMMERMOOR Alisa
Evers GOLD! (GOUD!) Jakob
Händel ARIODANTE Polinesso
  GIULIO CESARE IN EGITTO Sesto
  IL TRIONFO DEL TEMPO E DEL DESINGANNO Disinganno
Humperdinck HÄNSEL UND GRETEL Hänsel
Kálmán GRÄFIN MARIZA Manja
Massenet WERTHER Charlotte
Mozart COSÌ FAN TUTTE Dorabella
  DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE Dritte Dame
  LA FINTA GIARDINIERA Cavaliere Ramiro
  LE NOZZE DI FIGARO Marcellina
Offenbach LES CONTES D’HOFFMANN Voix de la mère
Puccini LA RONDINE Suzy
  MADAMA BUTTERFLY Susuki
Strauss ARIADNE AUF NAXOS Dryade
  DER ROSENKAVALIER Octavian
Strauß DIE FLEDERMAUS Prinz Orlofsky
  EINE NACHT IN VENEDIG Ciboletta
Tschaikowski EUGEN ONEGIN Olga
  PIQUE DAME Polina
Verdi RIGOLETTO Maddalena
Wagner DAS RHEINGOLD Erda
Johann Sebastian Bach Johannes-Passion (BWV 245)
  Markus-Passion, BWV 247
  Matthäus-Passion (BWV 244)
  Weihnachtsoratorium (BWV 248)
Claude Debussy La damoiselle élue
Antonín Dvořák Stabat Mater, op. 58 (B 71)
Manuel de Falla Siete Canciones populares Españolas
Georg Friedrich Händel Messiah, HWV 56
Gustav Mahler Sinfonie Nr. 2 in c-Moll
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Die erste Walpurgisnacht (MWV D 3)
  Elias op. 70
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Requiem in d-Moll. KV 626
Giovanni Battista Pergolesi Stabat mater
Gioachino Rossini Petite Messe solennelle
Camille Saint-Saëns Oratorio de Noël, op. 12
Arnold Schönberg Das Buch der hängenden Gärten, Op.15
Robert Schumann
Frauenliebe und -leben op. 42
Antonio Vivaldi Gloria, RV 589
Richard Wagner
Wesendonck-Lieder