Gaetano d´Espinosa

Conductor

The conductor Gaetano d’Espinosa was born in Palermo and studied violin (with Mihai Spinei and Salvatore Accardo) in his native city, as well as piano, composition (with Turi Belfiore) and philosophy. He commenced his career as a violinist in the Orchestra da Camera Italiana and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra. From 2001 to 2008 he was a member of the Dresden Staatskapelle, where from 2003 he held the position of deputy leader. During this period he was assistant to maestro Fabio Luisi, who became his mentor, in various productions.

He made his first guest appearance as conductor at the Dresden Semperoper with Verdi’s LA TRAVIATA in 2010, followed by Leoncavallo’s PAGLIACCI at Teatro Carlo Felipe in Genoa, Verdi’s OTELLO at the Graz Opera and the production of Puccini’s IL TRITTICO, praised by press and public alike, at the Opéra de Lyon. These early successes were followed by Donizetti’s MARIA STUARDA in Graz, Verdi’s LA TRAVIATA in Genoa, Verdi’s RIGOLETTO at the Opéra de Limoges and Teatro dell’Opera Roma, a new staging of Bellini’s NORMA at Teatro La Fenice, Mozart’s DON GIOVANNI at Teatro Comunale Sassari and Mozart’s MAGIC FLUTE at the Aichi Triennale in Nagoya along with Puccini’s MADAMA BUTTERFLY at Bunka Kai with the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra. He has been associated with the Teatro La Fenice in Venice since 2011, both in opera and in the symphonic field. In the 2019/2020 season, Gaetano d’Espinosa directed Mozart’s MARRIAGE OF FIGARO and Verdi’s NABUCCO at the Semperoper in Dresden.

In the concert field, Gaetano d’Espinosa has repeatedly conducted the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI, the Orchestra dell’ Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome and the Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi, of which he was the first guest conductor from 2011 to 2017. He regularly appears with celebrated Japanese orchestras, among them the NHK Orchestra in Tokyo, Gunma Symphony Orchestra, Hyogo PAC Orchestra and the PMF Festival Orchestra in Sapporo. Other close working associations link him with the Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Orchestre de l’Ile de France, Bamberger Symphoniker, Orchestre National de Belgique, the Prague Philharmonic and Kremerata Baltica.

As composer and soloist, he played in his own Violin Concerto in 2005 together with the Dresden Staatskapelle under the baton of Christian Arming. His “Andante for Dimitri” has been performed by various different orchestras since its 2014 premiere.

2020-09-20

Béla Bartók HERZOG BLAUBARTS BURG
Vincenzo Bellini NORMA
Gaetano Donizetti MARIA STUARDA
Ruggero Leoncavallo PAGLIACCI
Pietro Mascagni CAVALLERIA RUSTICANA
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE
  DON GIOVANNI
  LE NOZZE DI FIGARO
Giacomo Puccini
GIANNI SCHICCHI
  IL TABARRO
  MADAMA BUTTERFLY
  SUOR ANGELICA
Johann Strauß
DIE FLEDERMAUS
Giuseppe Verdi LA TRAVIATA
  NABUCCO
  OTELLO
  RIGOLETTO

Gaetano d´Espinosa

Dirigent

Der Dirigent Gaetano d´Espinosa wurde in Palermo geboren und studierte in seiner Heimatstadt Violine (bei Mihai Spinei und Salvatore Accardo), Klavier, Komposition (bei Turi Belfiore) und Philosophie. Seine Karriere begann er zunächst als Violinist im Orchestra da Camera Italiana und dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra. Von 2001 bis 2008 an war er Mitglied in der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden, wo er ab 2003 die Position des stellvertretenden Konzertmeisters innehatte. Während dieser Zeit assistierte er Maestro Fabio Luisi, der sein Mentor wurde, in verschiedenen Produktionen.

Im Jahr 2010 gastierte er erstmals als Dirigent an der Semperoper Dresden mit Verdis LA TRAVIATA, gefolgt von Leoncavallos PAGLIACCI am Teatro Carlo Felipe in Genova, Verdis OTELLO an der Oper Graz sowie die von Presse und Publikum gefeierte Produktion von Puccinis IL TRITTICO an der Opera de Lyon. Es folgte Donizettis MARIA STUARDA in Graz, Verdis LA TRAVIATA in Genova, Verdis RIGOLETTO an der Opera de Limoges und dem Teatro dell´Opera Roma, eine Neuproduktion von Bellinis NORMA am Teatro La Fenice, Mozarts DON GIOVANNI am Teatro Comunale Sassari und Mozarts DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE beim Aichi Triennale in Nagoya sowie Puccinis MADAMA BUTTERFLY am Bunka Kai mit dem Tokyo Symphony Orchestra. Mit dem Teatro La Fenice in Venedig verbindet ihn seit 2011 eine Zusammenarbeit sowohl in der Oper als auch im symphonischen Bereich. In der Spielzeit 2019/2020 leitete Gaetano d´Espinosa Mozarts LE NOZZE DI FIGARO und Verdis NABUCCO an der Semperoper Dresden.

Im Konzertbereich dirigierte Gaetano d´Espinosa mehrfach das Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI, das Orchestra dell´ Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom sowie das Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano „Giuseppe Verdi“, dessen erster Gastdirigent er von 2011 bis 2017 war. Er tritt regelmäßig mit renommierten japanischen Orchestern auf, zu denen das NHK Orchestra in Tokio, Gunma Symphony Orchestra, Hyogo PAC Orchestra und das PMF Festival Orchestra in Sapporo gehören. Weitere rege Zusammenarbeit verbinden ihn mit dem Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, dem Orchestra de Chambre de Lausanne, dem Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, dem Orchestre de l´lle de France, den Bamberger Symphonikern, dem Orchestre National de Belgique, den Prager Philharmonikern und der Kremerata Baltica.

Als Komponist und Solist führte er im Jahr 2005 sein eigenes „Konzert für Violine“ mit der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden unter der Leitung von Christian Arming auf. Sein Werk „Andante für Dimitrij“, wurde seit der Uraufführung 2014 mehrfach von verschiedenen Orchestern aufgeführt.

2020-09-20

Béla Bartók HERZOG BLAUBARTS BURG
Vincenzo Bellini NORMA
Gaetano Donizetti MARIA STUARDA
Ruggero Leoncavallo PAGLIACCI
Pietro Mascagni CAVALLERIA RUSTICANA
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE
  DON GIOVANNI
  LE NOZZE DI FIGARO
Giacomo Puccini
GIANNI SCHICCHI
  IL TABARRO
  MADAMA BUTTERFLY
  SUOR ANGELICA
Johann Strauß
DIE FLEDERMAUS
Giuseppe Verdi LA TRAVIATA
  NABUCCO
  OTELLO
  RIGOLETTO

Gaetano d´Espinosa